Berlin Graduate School Muslim Cultures and Societies

Gäste

2014

Dr. Andrea Chiovenda

Email: chiov@bu.edu




Dr. Said Hassan

Law-Abiding Citizen: the Question of Identity in Fatwa Discourse of Muslim Minorities in the West

Email: saidfares@ucla.edu



Dr. Halkano Abdi Wario

“Voicing the 'Voiceless' Umma in Kenya: Reflections on the Rise of the Friday Bulletin of the Nairobi Jamia Mosque”

Email: halkanoabdi@gmail.com



Dr. Gabriele vom Bruck

Biography as Historical Writing

Email: gb19@soas.ac.uk



Prof. Kader Konuk

Secularists, Agnostics, Atheists: Literary Impulses in Turkey's Long 20th Century.

Email: konuk@umich.edu



2013

Dr. Denis Hermann

'Anti-Reformist' Discourses and Actions during the Iranian Constitutional Movement (1906-1911).

Email: dnshermann@gmail.com



Dr. Marta Arena

Developing New Practices to Challenge Old Models: Single Mothers in Tunisia between the Changed Direction in Islamic Law and New Configurations of Gender and Proximity Relations.

Email: marta_arena_tos@yahoo.fr



Prof. Shirin Zubair

Situating Islamic Feminism: Pakistani Women Speak Out on Media Representations
Email: shirin_zubair@hotmail.com



2012

 

Prof. Babak Rahimi

University of California, San Diego

Iranian and Islamic Studies

Email: brahimi@ucsd.edu

 


 

Katarzyna Puzon, Gastdoktorandin

Graduate School for Social Research, Polish Academy of Sciences

(Re)Construction and memory in the post-conflict urban space of Beirut

Email: k.puzon@tlen.pl

 


 

Dr. Alexandre Caeiro

Cairo University

Order, Chaos and the Fatwa in Contemporary Islamic Discourse.

Email: alex.caeiro@gmail.com

 


 

Dr. Nico Kaptein

Leiden University

A Life in the Service of Islam and the Colonial Government: a Biographie of Sayyid 'Uthmân (1822-1914) of Batavia.

Email: N.J.G.Kaptein@hum.leidenuniv.nl

 


 

Dr. Halkano Abdi Wario

Bayreuth International Graduate School of African Studies

Networking the Nomads: A Study of Tablīghī JamāÝat among the Borana of Northern Kenya

Email: halkanoabdi@gmail.com

 


 

Prof. Mirjam Künkler

Princeton University

The Role of Law in Authoritarian Politics; Transnational Dimension of Female Religious Authority in Contemporary Iran.

Email: kuenkler@princeton.edu


 

Prof. Paul Amar

University of California, Santa Barbara

"Urban Public Moralities, Insurgent Security Politics, and Issues of Gendered Embodiment: New Uprisings and Contestations in the Arab World and Muslim Diaspora."

Email: amar@global.ucsb.edu


 

2011

 

Samir Boulos, Gastdoktorand

Universität Zürich

European-protestant Missionary Institutions in Egypt: Spaces of Cultural Entanglements (1900-1956)

Email: samir.boulos@uzh.ch


 

Dr. Corinne Fortier

CNRS, Paris

"Secret marriage" in Mauritania, in Egypt, in other muslim countries and in Islam. A comparative study

Email: Corinne.fortier@college-de-france.fr

 


 

Prof. Dr. Eric Lewis Beverley

State University of New York, Stony Brook

Fragmenting Sovereignty: Hyderabad, British India and the World

Email: eric.beverley@sunysb.edu

 


 

Sarah Eltantawi, Gastdoktorandin

Harvard University

Stoning in the Islamic Tradition: The Case of Northern Nigeria

Email: sarah.eltantawi@gmail.com

 


 

Dr. Elizabeth Suzanne Kassab

Cultural and Political Critique. Enlightenment in the Contemporary Arab World

Email:e_kassab@hotmail.com

 


 

Shireen Mirza, Gastdoktorandin

School of Oriental and African Studies, London.

Embodying Pasts: Ritual and memory of Shia'a practices in India's Deccan

Email:181539@soas.ac.uk

Abstract (pdf)

 


 

Fabio Vicini, Gastdoktorand

SUM – Italian Institute for Human Sciences

Reviving Islam Through Brotherhood: Religious Education, Sociability and Moral Agency in Present-day Turkey

Email: fabiovicini@gmail.com

Abstract (pdf)

 


 

2010

 

Prof. Dr. Dorothea Schulz

Universität Köln

Delineating the contours of the Muslim religious field in Uganda: Prospects and Limitations of Anthropological Research.

Tel: 030/838- 57393

Email: dschulz5@uni-koeln.de

 


 

Dr. Sebastian Maisel

Grand Valley State University

Tribal - State Relations in Saudi Arabia: An Assessment of a Century of Mutual Dependencies.

Tel: 030/838-57393

Email: maisels@gvsu.edu

 


 

Prof. Dr. Mohamad Nur Kholis Setiawan

Islamic Penal Law in the Indonesian Legal System: Radical, Liberal and Moderate Muslim's Reception to the Draft of Kitab Undang-Undang Hukum Pidana 2008

Tel: 030/838-57389

Email: M.kholis@gmx.de

 


 

Dr. Abdessamad Belhaj

The Jurisprudence of the Minorities: Fiqh al-aqalliyyat as a Glocal Legal Discourse

Tel: 030/838-57393
Email: belhaj.abdessamad@btk.ppke.hu

 


 

Dr. Norman Nikro

Memory, History and Gender in Contemporary Cultural Production in Lebanon

Tel: 030/838-57386
Email: nikro@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de

 


 

April 2009

 

Toby Matthiesen, visiting PhD student

School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London

The Shia of Saudi Arabia: Identity Politics, Communalism and the Saudi State

Tel: 030/838-57386
Email: tmatt@soas.ac.uk



Stand 22.09.2014

Aktuelles

Terminkalender