Berlin Graduate School Muslim Cultures and Societies

Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden

Jahrgang 2016

Heba_Amin

Heba Amin

Reconfigured Territories in the MENA Region: Visualized Landscapes in the Era of Digitization and Migration


Lucía Cirianni Salazar

Lucía Cirianni Salazar

Historical Debates on the Closure of the Turkish Sufi Lodges


nopic

Saidolimkhon Gaziev

The politics of gender in a colonial Islamic society: governing 'womanhood' in late 19th- and early 20th-century Russian Central Asia


Laura_Hindelang

Laura Hindelang

Shifting Visual and Written Representations of the Gulf Region between the 1950s and the Present [Working Title]

E-Mail hindelang@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


Jovo_Profil

Jovo Miladinović

Between Identity and Citizenship: The Conscription of the Muslim Population into the Army of the Kingdom of Serbs, Croats and Slovenes/Yugoslavia (1918-1941)


nopic

Bilal Sabbagh

The Popularisation of Sufism in Zangid, Ayyubid, and early Mamluk Syria


nopic

Ali Sakr

Die Poetik als Teil eines philosophischen Wissenschaftssystems: Der Poetik-Kommentar Ibn Sinas in seiner Summa "Die Genesung der Seele"


viktor_ullmann

Viktor Ullmann

Interrelations between the Iranian Motion Picture Industry and International Film Festivals


soheb_niazi

Soheb Ur-Rahman Niazi

Interrogating the Ashraf-Ajlaf Distinction in Colonial India : The Study of Genealogies at Qasbah Amroha [Working Title]

E-Mail soheb.niazi@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


nopic

André Weißenfels

Products of Work: Hybrid Subjectivities of Employees in Tunisia


merima_sehagic

Merima Šehagić

The Process of Integration from Perspectives of Bosniak Refugee Women. A narrative analysis of self presentation and coping strategies for resettlement in Germany


Jahrgang 2015

zubair_ahmad

Zubair Ahmad

The History of the Present: A Postcolonial Genealogy of Germany's Politics of Islam

E-Mail ahmad@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


muhammed-niyas

Muhammed Niyas Ashraf

Entanglements of Print Culture and Trajectories of Community Formation: Mappila Muslims of Kerala, 1867 - 1956

E-Mail muhammed-niyas@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


mohammed-swalih

Mohammed Swalih Errata Parambil

Everyday Ethics: Towards an Ethnography of Two Key Texts in the Islamic Everyday Life of Mappilas in Contemporary Kerala, South India

E-Mail swalih@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


jannis_grimm

Jannis Grimm

Mobilization and its Interpretation: Contested Discourses on Contentious Politics in Post-Revolutionary Egypt

E-Mail jj.grimm@fu-berlin.de


miriam_kurz

Miriam Kurz

Euromuslim, Gangster, Prophet-Lover, Islamist? Muslimische junge Männer in Berlin zwischen öffentlicher Diskursivierung, religiöser Diskurstradition und geschlechtsspezifischer Subjektformierung

E-Mail kurz@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


christian_kuebler

Christian Kübler

Jamāl al-Dīn al-Qāsimī (1866-1914): Life, Network and Legacy of a Damascene Salafī

E-Mail kuebler@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


jonas_mueller-laackman

Jonas Müller-Laackman

Das Leiden der Anderen - Einordnung, Interpretation und koloniale Dimensionen libyscher Lagerdichtung

E-Mail mueller-laackman@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


dunja_rasic

Dunja Rašić

The Concept of Hikmat al-Arab and the 10th Century Grammar Apologetics: A Study in Arabic Language Ideology

E-Mail rasic@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


mareike_transfeld

Mareike Transfeld

Working Title: The New Yemen(s): (Re-)Imagining National Identity, Geography and State on Facebook (2011-2016)

E-Mail transfeld@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


Jahrgang 2014

sara_abbas

Sara Abbas

Delivering Salvation: The Women of the Islamist Movement and Mobilization Discourses and Practices in Sudan

E-Mail abbas@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


bockholt1

Philip Bockholt

Writing History in Safavid Times. Khvandamir's (d. 1535-6) General History Habib al-siyar and its Reception in the Premodern Period

E-Mail bockholt@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


danilenko1

Nadja Danilenko

Visualized Space and Spatial Concepts. Al-Iṣṭakhrī‘s Kitāb al-Masālik wa-al-Mamālik and its Reception

E-Mail danilenko@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


gaetaniello

Oriana Gaetaniello

Between Isolation and Global Reception: The Figure of Muhammad Rashid Rida in the Context of the Islamic Reform Scene

E-Mail gaetaniello@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


hager-veronika

Veronika Hager

“Thinking about the Ottoman Empire in the Early Republic of Turkey”

E-Mail v.hager@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


Zacky Khairul Umam

Zacky Khairul Umam

Master of Two Oceans: Mulla Ibrahim al-Kurani (d. 1690) and the Medinan School for Religious Reformism

E-Mail umam@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


rahina_muazu

Rahina Muazu

The Recited Qur’an and Vocal Nudity: Contestations over the Female Voice in the Nigerian Public Space

E-Mail muazu@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


masouda_stelzer

Masouda Stelzer

Promoting Democracy in Times of Uprisings: the discourse of German political aid in Egypt

E-Mail stelzer@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


adela_taleb

Adela Taleb

Transcending national boundaries. The role of the EU and pan-European Muslim organisations in the discursive field of "European Islam".

E-Mail taleb@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


zuhri

Syaifudin Zuhri

Shrines Making and Contesting the Sacred: Muslim Pilgrimage in Contemporary Bali-Indonesia.

E-Mail zuhri@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


Jahrgang 2013

nopic

Mustafa Abulhimal (2013 - 2015)

The Home-grown Secular: Religion, Education and Language in the Writings of Abdullah al-Nadim (1843-1896)

E-Mail Abulhimal@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


nopic

Ezgi Canpolat (2013 - 2015)

Development Assistance, Faith-based NGOs in the Context of Turkey’s Africa Opening

E-Mail Canpolat@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


2013_Dina_El_Sharnouby

Dina El-Sharnouby

What Happened to the Revolutionary Youth after the January 25th Revolution? – A Comparative Study on Egyptian Youth Groups

E-Mail El-Sharnouby@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


josephine_gehlhar

Josephine Gehlhar

The Ottoman Commentary Tradition to al-Ghazālī’s Tahāfut al-falāsifa

E-Mail Gehlhar@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


foto_nora haakh

Nora Marianne Haakh

Strategies for Changing Stages. Contemporary Arabic Theatre and Cultural Brokering in Germany

E-Mail Haakh@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


2013_saima haq

Saima Haq

Cinema,Cultures and Marker of Muslim Identity

E-Mail Haq@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


2013_Liese_Hoffmann

Liese Hoffmann

Meanings of School in Post-Colonial Coastal Kenya

E-Mail Hoffmann@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


nikolotov

Anton Nikolotov

Geographies of afterlife: the futurist imaginations in the lives of Muslim market workers in Moscow.

E-Mail Nikolotov@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


2013_Thomas_Schad

Thomas Schad

From Fellow Muslims into Fellow Nationals? Migrants from Yugoslavia to Turkey between demographic engineering and trans-national figurations in İstanbul and İzmir (1945 – 1990)

E-Mail Schad@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


2013_Eva_Christine_Schmidt

Eva Christine Schmidt

Gender Politics in Transition. The Role of Feminist Actors in the Tunisian Transition

E-Mail Schmidt@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


2013_Neda_Soltani

Neda Soltani

Memory, Displacement and National Identity: A Gendered Analysis of Iranian Diaspora in Germany

E-Mail Soltani@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


2013_Nicola_Verderame

Nicola Verderame

On the Crossroads of Modernisation and Heritage: Fountain-Building in the Late Ottoman Empire

E-Mail Verderame@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


2013_Theresia_Dyah_Wirastri

Theresia Dyah Wirastri

Coping with Polygamy in Indonesia: Women’s Strategies to Seek Social Security in Unregistered Islamic Polygamous Marriages

E-Mail Wirastri@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


Jahrgang 2012

nopic

Kamaluddin Ahmed (2012 - 2015)

Abu Ja'far Ahmad ibn Muhammad al-Tahawi (239/853 - 321/933) and the Formation of the Hanafi School of Law in the 9th - 10th Centuries C.E.

E-Mail ahmed@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


ersin_cagin

Ersin Cagin

“Islamic Activism” in Transition: The Dialogue Discourse and the Contested Identity of the Gülen Movement.

E-Mail cagin@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


kristina_dohrn

Kristina Dohrn

Beyond Classrooms: Ethics and Education at Gülen-inspired Schools in Urban Tanzania

E-Mail dohrn@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


holz_sarah

Sarah Holz

Organised Religion in Pakistan: Dynamics and Change in Religious Institutions of the State.

E-Mail holz@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


Murtala Ibrahim_skaliert

Murtala Ibrahim

Sensation, Sight and Sound of Nigerian Religious Movements: A Comparative Study of Christ Embassy and Nasrul lahi- Fathi Society (NASFAT).

E-Mail ibrahim@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


Aksay

Nursem Keskin Aksay

Religion, Class, Gender: The Emergence of "Islamic Bourgeoisie" and Middle Class Muslim Women.

E-Mail aksay@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


2012_Max_Kramer

Max Kramer

Memory, Loss and Resistance: Kashmir in the independent digital documentary film.

E-Mail kramer@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


julianemueller2

Juliane Müller (Alumna BGSMCS)

Food and Drink in Arabo-Islamic Medicine. The Dietetics of Naǧīb ad-Dīn as-Samarqandī

E-Mail mueller@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


Hanna Nieber_skaliert

Hanna Nieber

Drinking the Written Qur’an: Scripture and Healing in Zanzibar Town

E-Mail nieber@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


2012_Miriam_Ovadia

Miriam Ovadia

Late-Ḥanbali Discursive Theology by Ibn Qayyim al-Jawziyyah: al-Ṣawāʽiq al-Mursalah

E-Mail moshe@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


claudia_seise

Claudia Seise (Alumna BGSMCS)

Religioscapes in Muslim Indonesia: Personalities, Institutions and Practices

E-Mail seise@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


Jahrgang 2011

2011_Olly_Akkerman

Olly Akkerman (Alumna BGSMCS)

From Sacred to Secret. Bohra Textual Practice and the Language of Secrecy

E-Mail akkerman@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


Bosanquet

Antonia Bosanquet (Alumna BGSMCS)

Ibn al-Qayyim's „Ahkam Ahl al-Dhimma“ – Regulations pertaining to the Protected People

E-Mail bosanquet@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


2011_RosaCordilleraCastillo

Rosa Cordillera Castillo

Being and Becoming (in the) Bangsamoro: Imagination, Memory, and Violence in Southern Philippines

E-Mail castillo@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


nopic

Julia Clauß

A Study in Scandals. Cultural Change in 21st-Century Saudi Arabia

E-Mail clauss@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


2011_Nora_Derbal

Nora Derbal

Charity for the Poor in Saudi Arabia.

E-Mail derbal@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


2011_mohamed eissa

Mohamed Eissa (Alumnus BGSMCS)

Theology and Legal Theory in the Fifth/Eleventh Century - A Case Study from the Shāfiʿī School of Law

E-Mail makya@aucegypt.edu


Jasmin Mahazi_skaliert2

Jasmin Mahazi

An Anthropology of the verbal text and context of Vave - a Bajuni farmer's ritual on the Swahili coast

E-Mail mahazi@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


nopic

Katharina Mühlbeyer (2011 - 2015)

Contemporary Islamic Advice Literature from Saudi Arabia

E-Mail muehlbeyer@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


2011_Barbara Ogbone

Barbara Ogbone

The impact of as-safar lil-ʿilm – translocal migration in search of religious education among Togolese Muslims

E-Mail ogbone@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


rana

Jasmijn Rana

Young Muslim Women in Combat Sports: Tensions and Connections

E-Mail rana@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


nopic

Nilden Vardar

Konvertiten zum Islam - Neue politische Akteure in Deutschland? Der Einfluss eines neuen Religionsverständnisses auf die Selbstwahrnehmung als deutsch-muslimischer Staatsbürger.

E-Mail vardar@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


Jahrgang 2010

nopic

Gregory Thomas Carlock

"A Total Poetic Conception of the World": Poetry and Modernity in Adünıs' Criticism

E-Mail carlock@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


2010_Chorshanbe_Goibnazarov

Chorshanbe Goibnazarov

Qașā’id-khānī a musical expression of social, cultural and religious identity in Badakhshan

E-Mail goibnazarov@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


kerstin_huenefeld

Kerstin Hünefeld (Alumna BGSMCS)

Islamic Governance in Yemen: Imām Yaḥyā 's Protection of the Jews and the Negotiation of Power

E-Mail huenefeld@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


Kasmani

Omar Kasmani (Alumnus BGSMCS)

Gender off course: subjectivities amongst fakir bodies of Sehwan sharīf

E-Mail kasmani@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


khan_razak_140120_rgb_01

Razak Khan (Alumnus BGSMCS)

Minority Pasts: The Other Histories of a “Muslim Locality”, Rampur 1889-1949

E-Mail khan@mpib-berlin.mpg.de


nopic

Alina Kokoschka (Alumna BGSMCS)

Warenwelt Islam. Konsumkultur & Ästhetik der Waren im zeitgenössischen Syrien

E-Mail a.kokoschka@fu-berlin.de


nopic

Jakob Krais (Alumnus BGSMCS)

Libysche Geschichtsschreibung zur italienischen Kolonialzeit

E-Mail krais@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


stefan_maneval

Stefan Maneval (Alumnus BGSMCS)

The Architecture of Everyday Life in Twentieth Century Jiddah

E-Mail maneval@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


nopic

Mahabat Sadyrbek (Alumna BGSMCS)

Ethnography of Law and Justice in contemporary Kyrgyzstan. The phenomenon of kun.

E-Mail sadyrbek@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


2010_Anne_Schönfeld

Anne Schönfeld

Islam-specific knowledge production between science, politics and the public: The training of imams in Germany.

E-Mail schoenfeld@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


nopic

Saud al-Zaid (Alumnus BGSMCS)

Modernity's Other: An Intellectual Anthropology of Radical Islamic Thought.

E-Mail al-zaid@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


Jahrgang 2009

Dauda Abubakar_skaliert

Dauda Abubakar (Alumnus BGSMCS)

The Practice of Zakat in Shari'ah and non-Shari'ah states of northern Nigeria

E-Mail dawoodunijos@gmail.com


nopic

Sarah Albrecht (Alumna BGSMCS)

Dār al-Islām Revisited. Territoriality in Contemporary Islamic Legal Discourse on Muslims in the West

E-Mail albrecht.sarah@fu-berlin.de


nopic

Zeynep Aydogan

Mapping the Early Ottoman World: Representations of Cultural Geography in the Late Medieval Anatolian Frontier Narratives

E-Mail aydogan@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


nopic

Janine Budich

Voluntary Work in Syria in the Field of Environment Protection

E-Mail budich@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


till_grallert

Till Grallert (Alumnus BGSMCS)

To Whom Belong the Streets? Property, Propriety, and Appropriation: The Production of Public Space in Late Ottoman Damascus, 1875-1914

E-Mail grallert@orient-institut.org


nopic

Sabine Hanisch (2009-2015)

Spaces and Dynamics of Female Practice: Exchange and Marriage in the Sahel, Tunisia

E-Mail hanisch@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


nopic

Syafiq Hasyim (Alumnus BGSMCS)

The Islamisation of Indonesia's State-Law

E-Mail hasyim@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


ebtisam_hussein

Ebtisam Hussein (Alumna BGSMCS)

Political Participation in Contemporary Islamic Political Discourse:The Cases of Jamal al-Banna, Tariq al-Bishri and Essam el-Eriyyan


nopic

Eva Marie Kogel

Zwischen Gotteslob und religiöser Debatte: Eine formenkritische Untersuchung hymnischer Passagen im Koran


elli_portrait resized

Sara Ellinor Morack (Alumna BGSMCS)

Migrants, Locals and the State in Izmir and its Hinterland

E-Mail ellinor.morack@uni-bamberg.de


nopic

Rune Reyhé (Alumnus BGSMCS)

Marriage and Social Interaction in a Semi-rural Uyghur Community of Kashgar

E-Mail rsr2152@columbia.edu


saskia_schaefer

Saskia Schäfer (Alumna BGSMCS)

The debate on religious freedom in contemporary Indonesia and Malaysia

E-Mail ss4605@columbia.edu


nopic

Usman Shah

Contested Governance: State Building and Social Transformation in Pakistan

E-Mail shah@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


Ruth Streicher

Ruth Streicher (Alumna BGSMCS)

Constructing Masculinities: A Gendered Ethnography of the Conflict in Southern Thailand

E-Mail r.streicher@fu-berlin.de


Jahrgang 2008

nopic

Mareike Beez (Alumna BGSMCS)

Der zwölferschiitische Martyriumsdiskurs im Iran des 19. und 20. Jahrhunderts

E-Mail Mareike.Beez@uni-erfurt.de


johara_berriane

Johara Berriane (Alumna BGSMCS)

The zâwiya of Sidi Ahmad al-Tijani in Fez and its transnational influence


feray_coskun

Feray Coşkun (Alumna BGSMCS)

Sanctifying Ottoman Istanbul: The Shrine of Abū Ayyūb al-Anṣārī

E-Mail Coskun@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


nopic

Sarah Hartmann

The Informal Education Sector in Egypt: Between State, Market, and Civil Society.

E-Mail Hartmann@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


frauke_kandale

Frauke-Katrin Kandale (Alumna BGSMCS)

Becoming Muslim: Chinese Muslim converts in Malaysia

E-Mail kandale@em.uni-frankfurt.de


nopic

Nils Riecken (Alumnus BGSMCS)

Abdallah Laroui and the Location of History. An Intellectual Biography

E-Mail Nils.Riecken@zmo.de


nopic

Michael Saurer

Initiation, Segregation and Negotiation as Key Factors in Coversion Processes between Christians and Muslims in Southwest-Uganda.

E-Mail Saurer@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


linus_strothmann

Linus Strothmann (Alumnus BGSMCS)

Managing Piety at the Shrine of Data Ganj Bukhsh in Lahore, Pakistan

E-Mail linusstrothmann@gmx.de


jan_thiehle

Jan Thiele (Alumnus BGSMCS)

Die Theologie des Zayditen al-Ḥasan ar-Raṣṣāṣ. Rezeption und Entwicklung bahšamitischer Lehren im Jemen des 6./12. Jahrhunderts

E-Mail jan.thiele@soas.ac.uk


wollina

Torsten Wollina (Alumnus BGSMCS)

Zwanzig Jahre Alltag. Lebens-, Welt- und Selbstbild im Journal des Aḥmad Ibn Ṭawq

E-Mail wollina@orient-institut.org