Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Welcome to the Berlin Graduate School Muslim Cultures and Societies

Berlin Graduate School Muslim Cultures and Societies

The Berlin Graduate School Muslim Cultures and Societies (BGSMCS) is supported by the Freie Universität Berlin as a host university together with the Humboldt University Berlin and the Leibniz-Center Moderner Orient.

The Graduate School investigates the plurality, changeability, and global connectedness of Muslim cultures and societies. The area of study includes Muslim societies in the Middle East, Africa, and Asia, as well as Muslim communities in Europe and North America. The researchers examine, in a systematic and comparative way, concepts, practices, and institutions variously understood as Islamic. Special attention is given to relations between Muslims and non-Muslims, as well as forms of inter- and intra-cultural communication.

The Graduate School's three-year doctoral programme begins in October. Up to fifteen doctoral students are admitted annually, ten of whom are awarded scholarships provided by the Graduate School.

In close cooperation with its partner institutions in Germany and abroad, the Graduate School offers doctoral candidates a broad educational programme of exceptional quality coupled with intensive mentoring for individual dissertation projects, training that will qualify graduates to hold leading positions in academia, the media, and politics.

Since October 2008, 132 doctoral students have been admitted to the Graduate School's doctoral program; 54 of them completed their dissertation until the autumn of 2018. The group of doctoral students is characterized by its internationality and gender balance: More than half are women, almost half of the doctoral candidates come from abroad.

Graduates, international or national, work predominantly in the academic field; many work in cultural and scientific cooperation, in political consulting or in the media. The program is enriched by numerous Postdoctoral Fellows and Visiting Scholars from Germany and abroad, who are intensively involved in the activities of the Graduate School - conferences, lectures and blogs, publications and exhibitions.

In 2017, the Graduate School established a new research focus Dealing with diversity in Islam: texts, objects, and practices. It addresses strategies of dealing with diversity, difference and distinction, be they religious, cultural, ethnic, social, economic or political.

This approach should be explored in the diversity of its strategies and attitudes - ranging from affirmation to negotiation to denial. The aim is not to focus on diversity as such, but to deal with it.

From 2007 the Berlin Graduate School Muslim Cultures and Societies has been funded by the Excellence Initiative of the German Federal and State Governments and by Freie Universität Berlin. Since 2017, after the funding expired, the Graduate School's programm is sponsored by the Einstein Foundation Berlin, the Gerda Henkel Foundation and the German Academic Exchange Service. Freie Universität Berlin will guarantee the financing of the management in the coming years. This has laid the foundations for the Graduate School to continue its successful work.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Berlin Graduate School Muslim Cultures and Societies

Berlin Graduate School Muslim Cultures and Societies

Die Berlin Graduate School Muslim Cultures and Societies (BGSMCS) wird von der Freien Universität Berlin (Sprecheruniversität), der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin (Institut für Asien -und Afrikawissenschaften) sowie der außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtung Leibniz-Zentrum Moderner Orient in Berlin getragen.

Die Graduate School widmet sich der inneren Vielfalt, historischen Wandelbarkeit und globalen Vernetzung islamisch geprägter Kulturen und Gesellschaften. Über den Mittleren Osten hinaus bezieht sie Asien und das subsaharische Afrika sowie die muslimische Diaspora in Europa und Nordamerika in ihr Forschungsprogramm ein. Die Wissenschaftler_innen untersuchen systematisch und vergleichend die Vielfalt dessen, was historisch und in der Gegenwart unter Islam verstanden wird. Ein besonderes Augenmerk gilt dabei dem Neben-, Mit- und Gegeneinander von Muslimen und Nichtmuslimen und den Formen inter- und intrakultureller Kommunikation. 

Das dreijährige Studienprogramm beginnt im Oktober. Pro Jahrgang werden bis zu 15 Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden aufgenommen, von denen 10 ein Stipendium der Graduate School erhalten können.

In enger Vernetzung mit ihren Partnern im In- und Ausland bietet die Graduate School den Promovierenden eine intensive Betreuung ihrer individuellen Dissertationsprojekte und eine breit gefächerte, methodisch anspruchsvolle Ausbildung mit berufsvorbereitenden Elementen.

Seit Oktober 2008 wurden 132 Promovierende in das Promotionsprogramm der Graduate School aufgenommen; 54 von ihnen haben ihre Dissertation bis zum Herbst 2018 abgeschlossen. Die Gruppe der Promovierenden zeichnet sich durch ihre Internationalität und ausgewogene Genderbalance aus: Mehr als die Hälfte sind Frauen, knapp die Hälfte der Promovenden kommt aus dem Ausland.

Die Absolventinnen und Absolventen sind, sei es international oder national, überwiegend im akademischen Feld tätig; viele arbeiten in der kulturellen und wissenschaftlichen Zusammenarbeit, in der Politikberatung oder in den Medien. Bereichert wird das Programm durch zahlreiche Postdoctoral Fellows und Visiting Scholars aus dem In- und Ausland, die in die Aktivitäten der Graduate School – Konferenzen, Vorträge und Blogs, Publikationen und Ausstellungen – intensiv eingebunden sind.

Im Jahr 2017 hat die Graduate School ihr programmatisches Profil erneuert: Das neue Forschungsprogramm trägt den Titel Dealing with Diversity in Islam: Texts, Objects, and Practices; im Mittelpunkt steht nun der Umgang mit Diversität, Differenz und Distinktion, seien sie religiös, kulturell, ethnisch, sozial, ökonomisch oder politisch definiert.

Dieser Umgang soll in der Vielfalt seiner Strategien und Einstellungen erforscht werden – von der offenen Bejahung über Aushandlung und Verschleierung bis zur expliziten Ablehnung. Ziel ist es, Diversität nicht als solche ins Zentrum zu rücken, sondern den Umgang damit.

Die Berlin Graduate School Muslim Cultures and Societies wurde ab 2007 aus den Mitteln der Exzellenzinitiative des Bundes und der Länder sowie der Freien Universität Berlin gefördert. Mit Auslaufen der Exzellenzförderung hat die Graduate School die Einstein Stiftung Berlin, die Gerda Henkel Stiftung und den Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienst als Förderer für ihr Programm gewonnen. Die Freie Universität Berlin garantiert in den kommenden Jahren die Finanzierung der Geschäftsstelle. Damit sind die Grundlagen dafür geschaffen, dass die Graduate School ihre erfolgreiche Arbeit fortsetzen kann.


Die Graduate School Muslim Cultures and Societies wurde auch kurz in einem Beitrag über die Freie Universität Berlin in der Reihe "Hochschul-Visitenkarten" des Senders BR-Alpha portraitiert. Das Video finden Sie bei YouTube sowie auf der Homepage von ARD-alpha (ab 4:23)