Berlin Graduate School Muslim Cultures and Societies

Gastwissenschaftler_innen

nopic

Prof. Paul Amar

Visiting Fellow (2012)

"Urban Public Moralities, Insurgent Security Politics, and Issues of Gendered Embodiment: New Uprisings and Contestations in the Arab World and Muslim Diaspora."

E-Mail amar@global.ucsb.edu


nopic

Dr. Marta Arena

Visiting Fellow (2013)

Developing New Practices to Challenge Old Models: Single Mothers in Tunesia Between the Changed Direction in Islamic Law and New Configurations of Gender

E-Mail marta_arena_tos@yahoo.fr


nopic

Dr. Abdessamad Belhaj

Visiting Fellow (2010 und 2014)

The Jurisprudence of the Minorities: Fiqh al-aqalliyyat as a Glocal Legal Discourse

E-Mail belhaj.abdessamad@btk.ppke.hu


nopic

Prof. Dr. Eric Lewis Beverley

Visiting Fellow (2011)

Fragmenting Sovereignty: Hyderabad, British India and the World

E-Mail eric.beverley@sunysb.edu


nopic

Dr. Zahir Bhalloo

From Pīr Shams to Āghā Khān: Sayyid Geneaologies and the Khojas of South Asia

E-Mail zahir.bhalloo@yahoo.fr


nopic

Samir Boulos

Visiting Fellow (2011)

European-protestant Missionary Institutions in Egypt: Spaces of Cultural Entanglements (1900-1956)

E-Mail samir.boulos@uzh.ch


nopic

Dr. Alexandre Caeiro

Visiting Fellow (2012)

Order, Chaos and the Fatwa in Contemporary Islamic Discourse.

E-Mail alex.caeiro@gmail.com


nopic

Andrea Chiovenda

Visiting Fellow (2014)

E-Mail chiov@bu.edu


nopic

Sarah Eltantawi

Visiting Fellow (2011)

Stoning in the Islamic Tradition: The Case of Northern Nigeria

E-Mail sarah.eltantawi@gmail.com


nopic

Dr. Corinne Fortier

Visiting Fellow (2011)

"Secret marriage" in Mauritania, in Egypt, in other muslim countries and in Islam. A comparative study.

E-Mail Corinne.fortier@college-de-france.fr


nopic

Dr. Said Hassan

Visiting Fellow (2014)

Law-Abiding Citizen: the Question of Identity in Fatwa Discourse of Muslim Minorities in the West

E-Mail saidfares@ucla.edu


nopic

Dr. Denis Hermann

Visiting Fellow (2013)

‘Anti-Reformist’ Discourses and Actions during the Iranian Constitutional Movement (1906-1911)

E-Mail dnshermann@gmail.com


livnat_holtzman

Prof. Livnat Holtzman

Visiting Research Fellow (2016)

Patterns of Argumentation and Rhetorical Devices in the Legal and Theological Works of Ibn Qayyim al-Jawziyya

E-Mail Livnat.Holtsman@biu.ac.il


nopic

Dr. Nico Kaptein

Visiting Fellow (2012)

A Life in the Service of Islam and the Colonial Government: a Biographie of Sayyid 'Uthmân (1822-1914) of Batavia.

E-Mail N.J.G.Kaptein@hum.leidenuniv.nl


nopic

Dr. Elizabeth Suzanne Kassab

Visiting Fellow (2011)

Cultural and Political Critique. Enlightenment in the Contemporary Arab World

E-Mail e_kassab@hotmail.com


nopic

Prof. Kader Konuk

Visiting Fellow (2014)

Secularists, Agnostics, Atheists: Literary Impulses in Turkey's Long 20th Century

E-Mail konuk@umich.edu


kai_kresse

Prof. Kai Kresse

Visiting Research Fellow at BGSMCS (2015/2016)

“Past, Present Continuous: Swahili Muslim Politics and Intellectual Practice in Postcolonial Kenya”

E-Mail kk2918@columbia.edu


nopic

Prof. Mirjam Künkler

Visiting Fellow (2012)

The Role of Law in Authoritarian Politics; Transnational Dimension of Female Religious Authority in Contemporary Iran.

E-Mail kuenkler@princeton.edu


nopic

Dr. Sebastian Maisel

Visiting Fellow (2010)

Tribal - State Relations in Saudi Arabia: An Assessment of a Century of Mutual Dependencies.

E-Mail maisels@gvsu.edu


nopic

Prof. Ruth Mas

Visiting Research Fellow at BGSMCS (2015/2016)


nopic

Toby Matthiesen

Visiting PhD student (2009)

The Shia of Saudi Arabia: Identity Politics, Communalism and the Saudi State

E-Mail tmatt@soas.ac.uk


nopic

Prof. Shireen Mirza

Visiting Fellow (2011)

Embodying Pasts: Ritual and memory of Shia'a practices in India's Deccan

E-Mail 181539@soas.ac.uk


nopic

Dr. Norman Nikro

Visiting Fellow (2010)

Memory, History and Gender in Contemporary Cultural Production in Lebanon

E-Mail nikro@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de


abdul_jaleel_pkm

Dr. Abdul Jaleel Parappu Kadavath Matra

Visiting Research Fellow (2016)

From Hadrami Sayyids to Malayāli Tangals: The Sacred Lineage and Shifting Diasporic Identity of Hadramis in Kerala, South India


nopic

Katarzyna Puzon

Visiting Fellow (2012)

(Re)Construction and memory in the post-conflict urban space of Beirut

E-Mail k.puzon@tlen.pl


nopic

Prof. Babak Rahimi

Visiting Fellow (2012)

Iranian and Islamic Studies

E-Mail brahimi@ucsd.edu


Logo_BGSMCS

Prof. Umar Ryad

Visiting Research Fellow (2016/2017)

E-Mail U.Ryad@uu.nl


nopic

Prof. Dr. Dorothea Schulz

Visiting Fellow (2010)

Delineating the contours of the Muslim religious field in Uganda: Prospects and Limitations of Anthropological Research.

E-Mail dschulz5@uni-koeln.de


nopic

Prof. Mohamad Nur Kholis Setiawan

Visiting Fellow (2010)

Islamic Penal Law in the Indonesian Legal System: Radical, Liberal and Moderate Muslim's Reception to the Draft of Kitab Undang-Undang Hukum Pidana 2008

E-Mail M.kholis@gmx.de


nopic

Fabio Vicini

Visiting Fellow (2011)

Reviving Islam Through Brotherhood: Religious Education, Sociability and Moral Agency in Present-day Turkey

E-Mail fabiovicini@gmail.com


nopic

Dr. Halkano Abdi Wario

Visiting Fellow (2012 & 2014)

Printing Knowledge, Informing Umma: Historical and Contextual Analysis of Kenya’s Friday Bulletin

E-Mail halkanoabdi@gmail.com


nopic

Dr. Oleg Yarosh

Visiting Researcher (2014)

Religious Authority in Sufi Communities in the West: Comparative Study of the Naqshbandiyya Networks in Western Europe

E-Mail o.yarosh@gmail.com


nopic

Shirin Zubair

Visiting Fellow (2013)

Situating Islamic Feminism: Pakistani Women Speak Out on Media Representations

E-Mail shirin_zubair@hotmail.com


nopic

Dr. Gabriele vom Bruck

Visiting Fellow (2013 - 2014)

Biography as Historical Writing

E-Mail gb19@soas.ac.uk