Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Call for Applications, 2 PhD scholarships, Einstein-Project "The Poetics of Aristotle between Europe and Islam"

Within the framework of the project “The Poetics of Aristotle between Europe and Islam. A Multilingual Edition with Studies of the Cultural Contexts of the Syriac, Arabic, Hebrew, and Latin Translations” funded by the Einstein Foundation, the Berlin Graduate School Muslim Cultures and Societies (BGSMCS) will award two PhD scholarships (three year funding period, 15 February 2016 to 14 February 2019, twelve-month stipend of €17,600 per year).

The Berlin Graduate School Muslim Cultures and Societies (BGSMCS) is funded by the Excellence Initiative of the German Federal and State Governments and by Freie Universität Berlin.

The project will be organised by Einstein-Visiting-Fellow Prof. Dr. Dimitri Gutas (Yale University) and Prof. Dr. Beatrice Gründler (Freie Universität Berlin). The Working group will produce a multilingual critical edition and study of Aristotle’s Poetics and its commentaries (I) and a study of its intellectual history, which bridges Islam and Europe (II). Work will be conducted in subteams for each language (Arabic, Syriac, Hebrew, and Latin).

The formal requirement for application is a university honours degree reflecting a level of attainment that is above average. The degree should be in one of the disciplines relevant to the project (Arab and/or Islamic Studies, Greek Studies etc.). Candidates are expected to submit an outline of their proposed dissertation project, which should be in the broader area of Greco-Arabic Studies or the study of other translations from and to Arabic as exemplified in the project, involving for instance Syriac, Latin, Hebrew, Byzantine Greek, or Middle Persian (Pahlavi) (maximum 6 pages, with a summary of no more than half a page), to include a short description of the topic, the current state of research, and its theoretical and methodological approach, as well as a preliminary work schedule.

As English will be the primary language of communication, students are expected to have advanced English-language proficiency. Students must further demonstrate excellent proficiency in classical Arabic. Knowledge in any of the other above-mentioned languages, word-processing in these languages, expertise in codicology, and familiarity with Digital Humanities would be an advantage.

 

The application process will end on 31 January 2016.

 

Please send you application to

Dr. Bettina Gräf with the key word „The Poetics of Aristotle“ to md@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de.

Ausschreibung von 2 Doktorandenstipendien, Einsteinprojekt "Die Poetik des Aristoteles zwischen Europa und Islam"

Im Rahmen des von der Einstein-Stiftung geförderten Projekts „Die Poetik des Aristoteles zwischen Europa und Islam. Mehrsprachige kritische Edition mit Studien zu den kulturellen Kontexten der syrischen, arabischen, hebräischen und lateinischen Übersetzungen“ schreibt die Berlin Graduate School Muslim Cultures and Societies (BGSMCS) zwei Doktorandenstipendien aus (dreijährige Laufzeit, 15.2.2016 bis 14.2.2019, 17.600 Euro pro Jahr).

Die BGSMCS wird von der Exzellenzinitiative der Länder und des Bundes gefördert. Das Projekt „Die Poetik des Aristoteles“ wird von dem Einstein-Visiting-Fellow Prof. Dr. Dimitri Gutas (Yale University) und der Arabistin Prof. Dr. Beatrice Gründler (Freie Universität Berlin) geleitet. Innerhalb des Projekts wird in Zusammenarbeit mit mehreren Institutionen in Berlin eine mehrsprachige kritische Edition mit Studien zu den kulturellen Kontexten der syrischen, arabischen, hebräischen und lateinischen Übersetzungen entstehen.

Voraussetzung für die Bewerbung ist ein überdurchschnittlicher Hochschulabschluss (Magister, M.A., Diplom) in einer der für dieses Projekt einschlägigen Fächer (Arabistik, Islamwissenschaft, Byzantinistik, u.a.). Das einzureichende Exposé sollte ein Dissertationsvorhaben auf dem weiteren Gebiet der Graeco-Arabica oder anderer Übersetzungen aus dem Arabischen oder ins Arabische (z.B. Syro-Aramäisch, Lateinisch, Hebräisch, byzantinisches Griechisch, Mittelpersisch (Pahlavi)) auf max. 6 Seiten vorstellen. Erwartet werden Angaben zu Fragestellung, Forschungsstand, Theorie und Methode, sowie ein vorläufiger Zeit- und Arbeitsplan. Das Vorhaben ist zusätzlich auf max. einer halben Seite zusammenzufassen.

Unbedingt erforderlich sind sehr gute Kenntnisse des klassischen Arabisch sowie sehr gute Englischkenntnisse. Erwünscht ist eine weitere der oben genannten Sprachen, Kenntnisse der Kodikologie, der elektronischen Textverarbeitung in diesen Sprachen sowie Vertrautheit mit den Digital Humanities.

 

Bewerbungsschluss ist der 31. Januar 2016.

 

Bewerbungen bitte an:

Dr. Bettina Gräf mit dem Kennwort „Poetik des Aristoteles“ unter md@bgsmcs.fu-berlin.de